Creamy Enchiladas

You can read my disclaimer’s and cooking/blog methods by clicking here.

One of the hardest things, for me personally, since being diagnosed with IC is that I pretty much have to skip out on all Mexican Food. I long for an awesome green chili burrito quite often but would pay for it for a week or two if I dare eat it.

Mexican Food was one thing that I figured out pretty quickly after being diagnosed and my road to recovery was complete. My husband’s favorite restaurant is Chipotle- so you can only imagine the torture.

So this recipe is so simple, has no spice, and you actually feel like you are eating Mexican Food. And you feel guilt free and at ease knowing that you aren’t going to pay for it the next day.

Creamy Enchilada’s

  • 3 pieces of boneless skinless chicken
  • 8 tortillas (use Tortilla Land brand or Tortilla Fresca. Homemade is nice too.)
  • 1/4 cilantro
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 large red bell peppers
  • 1/2 of a red onion (try it)
  • *1 can cream of chicken soup (try it and  use 100% organic because that makes it IC friendly)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup sour cream (try it)
  • 2 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese or a favorite mexican blend that is IC friendly to you

*I did put notes by the ingredients- I have found that on the IC Network food list some things are a Foods To Avoid because they have preservatives in them or are heavily spiced. So when it comes to the cream of chicken I use 100% organic because it’s simple and typically isn’t heavily spiced, making it IC friendly. Still look at the ingredients when buying to make sure that it’s IC friendly for you.

  1. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees and place your raw chicken on a lined baking sheet (I use aluminum foil that doesn’t let stuff stick to it).
  2. Sprinkle your chicken with salt and pepper and use about 2 tablespoons of your cilantro and sprinkle it evenly over the chicken. Place in the oven and bake for 25 minutes.
  3. While the chicken is baking chop up the onion and throw it in a pan with the 1 tbsp. of cilantro. I usually use a bit of butter or avocado oil to soak them that way they saute up nice.
  4. While the onions are cooking de-seed, cut, and blend your two red bell peppers and place them in the pan with your onions. Give it a good stir and turn to low while it simmers.
  5. In a separate pot combine your cream of chicken, sour cream, and remaining cilantro. Heat covered on medium until warm.
  6. I use the Tortilla Factory brand of tortillas from Sams Club or Tortilla Fresca tortillas from Costco which requires them to be cooked. So now would be a good time to brown those
  7. Pull the chicken out of the oven cut it and toss it into your red pepper sauce until everything is coated evenly.
  8. Assemble your enchiladas by putting a scoop of chicken in a tortilla with a sprinkle of cheese. Place them in a greased (yet again I use avocado oil) pan.
  9. Pour the creamy sauce over the top of the enchiladas and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top. Put back in the oven and bake until the sauce is bubbling around the edges.

This recipe gives my husband and I at least 2 meals each.

Enjoy.

Leave a comment